Holiday Gift Guide: Kid’s Book Edition

This post contains affiliate links.

Whether you have a big reader in your house or you subscribe to the “something you want, something you need, something to wear and something to read” gifting philosophy, books make great gifts. Hit up any Barnes and Noble and you could easily spend hundreds of dollars on your family.

Overwhelmed by all the options? I’ve got you covered. Here are the top kid’s books on our list this year that are sure to please the elementary-aged kids in your life.

Chapter Books

Jada Jones – We fell in love with this new series by Kelly Starling Lyons (a North Carolina author), featuring a science loving little girl. Perfect for 1st-3rd graders!

Beatrice Zinker: Upsidedown Thinker – This cute book is a first for author, Shelley Johannes. Perfect for elementary aged kids. They’ll love the main character and can likely relate to all her antics and experiences.
Clementine – Fans of Junie B and Ramona Quimby will love this series!

Munchem Academy: The Girl Who Knew Even More – The second book in the series, this mystery is great for kids 8 and up.

Percy Jackson and the Olympians – I have this series to thank for my third graders newfound love of Greek Mythology. The author, Rick Riordan, has several other series as well, so your reader won’t be lacking good material.

Wonder - This book has been popular with the 3rd grade and up crowd for a few years. The movie version is coming out (next week!) so if you haven’t read it yet, now’s a good time. (You know the book will be better than the movie, but with Julia Roberts, I have high expectations.)

Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Getaway – All Wimpy Kid lovers will be stoked to get their hands on the 12th book in the series (just came out November 7!)

Harry Potter and Prisoner of Azkaban – Illustrated Edition – We haven’t purchased any of the Illustrated Editions yet, but they are simply gorgeous. It’s a great gift for ANY Harry Pottery fan, kid or not.

Coloring Books:

Percy Jackson – Can’t go wrong with a coloring book to match our new Percy Jackson obsession
Heart Coloring Book for Kids – This new book that came out over the summer is perfect for my daughter! Lots of detail but nothing too overly complicated.

Art of Coloring: the Nightmare Before Christmas - This one might even have to be an “it’s almost christmas” present.

Non-fiction:

Bet You Didn’t Know: Fascinating, Far-Out, Fun-tastic Facts – My son loves learning all sorts of random facts, so this new book from National Geographic will definitely make it under our tree.

Just Joking Jumbo — 1,000 giant jokes and 1,000 funny photos makes for a great stocking stuffer!

Amazing World: Stars & Planets – My daughter loves learning about the sky and the solar system, so this book was a no brainer for us.


Anything from the Who Am I? Series  – In 2017 alone, they’ve published books on Albert Einstein, Walt Disney, Lebron James, Barack Obama and more.

Gift Guide for Kids Book Edition

Several books were sent to me for review purposes; others we just really, really like. 
Love it? Share it.Tweet about this on TwitterShare on StumbleUponShare on FacebookEmail this to someoneBuffer this pageShare on LinkedIn

You'll probably like these too...

Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *